What's new
What's new

CNC Mill Gift Ideas

Matthewkral

Plastic
Hello I am a young machinist from Ohio who has been machining for nearly a decade now. My mother turns 50 this year and I would like to make her something with the skills I have developed over the last 10 years. I have access to and am comfortable with design/CAM (Gibbscam), 3-4 axis vertical mills, Bridgeport’s, hand tools etc. I got the go ahead from my boss to use the shops machines after work.

Do you guys have any ideas for gifts that I could make? I have bounced around the idea of an engraving but haven’t been able to come up with any ideas outside that realm. I want it to be sentimental and really display my craft. Any suggestions or ideas are greatly appreciated!

I used to make clocks, crib boards, engraved name plates, and an assortment of other stuff as retirement or 'moving along' departure gifts for folks in my Military unit.

The crib boards were made of 7/8 acrylic sheet, pretty simple to do except that the acrylic is nowhere near flat, so it required a lot of careful shimming under the blank with strips of paper, to get the whole area that was to be drilled and engraved, within a couple thou of flat in both axiis.

One of the things that I was going to try but never got around to, was edge lighting on an engraved acrylic panel, either wall mounted or free standing as a desk ornament. There is a LOT more LED lighting goodies around now. This was before they put rainbow barf on ever computer product...

If you are looking at engraving, find a Vector Graphics manipulation program and work out your layouts in that. I used Inkscape (Free), for Raster to Vector conversions,and outlines, which gives you a scalable vector image that may or may not need much touch up to use. Pretty sure I saved it as an .iges or .igs file, and those were easily imported into Gibbs.
Dunno if they still do, but Adobe Illustrator used to be available free to use for a month. It's overkill, but...