What's new
What's new

CNC Mill Machinist Career path.

SpeedsandFeeds

Aluminum
So I topped 75k in 2018 as a CNC mill setup/operator. I have 8 years of work experience and a AAS degree in machine tool technology. Working roughly 50hrs a week on average the entire year I was able to hit that 75k.

I set up 3-5axis mills daily holding +\- .006 microns majority of the time on hardend materials. I do not program the machine, but I have a big influence on how the part im working on gets programmed. I am capable of programming but since I have not been doing it for the past 6 years I would need some re-training on the software, but I am sure I would pick it up fairly quick again. I have experience with multiple machine controls and probe/laser setup calibration and what not....etc etc etc etc.

Im just OK with my income, its been climbing every year but the thing is I want MORE and I want it NOW!!!! 8 years ago my first Cnc job i was paid 12 bucks an hr, and now im just above 26 an hr. THE REASON FOR THIS POST IS: How do I find a higher paying CNC Machining job or how can I take my skills as a machinist and apply it towards another similar profession to make well over 100k?? With all the job posting out there nowadays everything seems to be equal or just slightly lower then my pay now. I cant top out when I still have 30 more years of work ahead of me!!!!

Any feedback will be appreciated, and if you are one of the guys who are gonna give me hell for posting this then lets hear it pal.

Thanks,
SpeedsandFeeds

smile.gif
So I topped 75k in 2018 as a CNC mill setup/operator...

How many interviews do you have setup this week? 0?
How many shop owners do you know? 0?

Point being, get yourself out there. Talk with people, network. It won't happen tomorrow, but it'll pay off.