What's new
What's new

Cons of rolled ballscrew vs ground for low accuracy cnc axis?

gregormarwick

Diamond
We have a big old manual lathe with a 15" hollow spindle in decent mechanical condition that I'm considering doing a retro on. We have had to decline a fair amount of work recently that we could have done if this lathe was cnc. The retro itself doesn't phase me, btdt. And I have almost everything I need to do it on hand. I have a decent selection of high quality ground ballscrews that I can use for the cross slide, but I would have to buy one for the z axis. The lathe already has a scale that I could integrate easily enough so the accuracy of the ballscrew wouldn't be a big concern. A small amount of backlash probably wouldn't be a big deal either. Given the size of the machine, I'd likely need at least a 50mm fine pitch screw at 3m long, and these get pricey. C5 rolled is much more affordable, but I've never worked with rolled ones before. Besides the loss of accuracy are there any other major downsides to a rolled ballscrew that I need to consider?

Ground ballscrews have the advantage of stiffness (more uniform pitch, and consistent ball race = better load transfer among all the elements = high stiffness). Depending on preload, they can also be easier and more consistent during rotation, as variations in the lead and ball preload are smaller, so no "pulsing" or other form-induced variations.

Downside, of course, is cost. And at the size of screw you need, it's a big deal.

One thing to consider is that the machine could be designed to have a shorter ballscrew for carriage drive that can be moved and clamped to the bed, such that you have a "section" of CNC, then shift, re-calibrate, and now cut in the new zone. Much cheaper to implement (1 meter ballscrew is about a tenth or less a 3 meter), and with many features only requiring a relatively short CNC path, this can work in some applications.