Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Utah
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Good thing we figured out that problem....the one that shouldn't ever exist.

2. Likes Mike1974 liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Florida
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Mtndew View Post
    You only need it when you're doing a contour.
    If programming by hand, it's not necessary. If programming at the control it will most likely spit out all moves with cutter comp.
    I started programming cnc lathes back in 1989, used cutter comp in just about every situation.
    There are exceptions of course. But more often than not the people who say to not use it either don't understand it or don't want to take the time to explain it.
    Or they don't use it because it is not necessary if using cam. I've never used it, but also never had to hold a true radius, or some weird angle they wanted +/-.1 deg or something.

I've shared before, but had a guy that insisted he could do faster programming at the machine with canned cycles, sure maybe simple shoulders and bores ya. But get into profiling funky angles and blends it's a little different.

Now a question I have for you guys that do alot of lather programming at the control, don't you need all the tangent points when a radius blends into an angle? I ask because I did a little bit with an Integrex, and the guy programming always handed the prints off to me to dimension all the end points and stuff.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Utah
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Mike1974 View Post