What's new
What's new

Daewoo Low Chuck Pressure

shortbusdriver

Plastic
Im looking at buying a Daewoo Lynx 200 cnc lathe. Machine looks to be in pretty good shape but the owner says it has low chuck pressure. He has not looked into it as he is not using the machine lately.

As far as I know it is not throwing a low hydraulic pressure alarm so I do not think that is the issue.

Any ideas to look into first? I am a self taught manual machinist so I do not know much about these machines. I would like to see if I can find the issue before I either buy this machine, or move on to something else.

Not familiar with that model but it should not be any different than any other lathe of similar construction using hydraulics. What items are operated by hydraulics? Chuck, turret, tail stock, part catcher, or ???. Is the pressure on the main pump good? Do all items operated by hydraulics have adjustable pressure? I honestly would only be concerned if the main pump pressure was low and can't be adjusted up as it could be worn out. Honestly the problem could be so many things. If the main pump looks good I would just start at the chuck and work my way backward. Something is probably plugged up or a valve or the like isn't functioning correctly. If the main pump needs a rebuild that could be an issue, anything else is probably a cheap fix.

Hydro pumps are available for cheap as they are more plentiful than small block chevy's. (anymore)

I would think that the only component that would be expensive would be the actuator if there would be some reason that needed replaced, and I doubt that you would be able to diagnose that upon inspection.

If I liked the machine otherwise, and I could pick it up cheap doo to the [semi unkown] issue, I would prolly jump at it, keeping in mind that a new actuator is likely the most expensive possibility.

Heck, who knows, maybe the draw tube needs beat out with a sledgehammer and the whole thing cleaned out real good is all?