What's new
What's new

deep pockets 7050 aluminum thin walls pushing out with finishing

lowCountryCamo

Stainless
I am programming a aerospace part in aluminum 7050. Okuma mu6300. Part is held in dovetail and is tabbed to finish. This pocket is 2. x 6. x 2.0 deep. One wall is .06 thick and is pushing out when finishing. I cannot get it to size without going negative stock to leave. I have tried roughing and finishing in 2 steps roughing in 1 step, leaving wall at .140 and finishing in steps. Both ways wall is not flat and is over and on size in different places. I have tried a mix of 3/4 sharp 4flt and 1/2 Em .125r. Anyone have any tips for these kinds of walls. For example EM diameter, flute count, corner radius size, amount for finish pass etc.

Thanks,

steve austin

I am far from an expert but I have gotten out of similar situations by taking a very heavy finish cut and by playing around with conventional vs climb milling. Is if possible to make a "hoop" to support the outside and climb mill it (should help push the thin wall into the temporary support)?

Possible to machine the pocket first and then the outside? Or could make a plug to go in before you finish the outside.

foam on the inside work really well, but I am guessing your running production and dont want the add'd start and spot time.
if thats the case rough both outside an inside leaving maybe .1-.150 stock then when you do finish pass's step down about .250 alternating between inside and outside and make it so one side finishes deeper then the other side to help hold rigidity.
I use 3 flute alumastars for deep pockets. I am assuming your tolorance is either + or - .003 or .005
On longer lengths in either x or y you maybe have to run some taper in the program as we have had the center sucking in about .002
also once you get deeper you will have to reduces the rpm by about 1/2 to keep the chatter away and a nice finish

Hope that made sense.
for example
outside 1st fin pass at z-.125 deep