What's new
What's new

Defining machinable parts from a monolithic end product

greenions

Plastic
Hi Experts,

I am very new to CNC machining and have never done any hands on machining. I prefer to let experts handle the job and I can focus on describing what I want from the end product.

I wish design a metal only product (preferably stainless steel). I have attached a 3D view of the product along with the dimensions. I have also attached engineering drawings (top, front and side views).

I am guessing machining the monolithic model in one shot is either going to be impossible or will end up being too expensive. I need some help in figuring how to define smaller machinable parts so that it is cheaper to build the overall product. The end product should be very close to the monolithic construction as much as possible in terms of strength and stiffness.

What are my options?

To give you a little bit more context, the end product is supposed to rest on another steel disk (through needle thrust bearings) and rotate on a vertical axis freely. Note that precision is important for me and hence I prefer not to go toward injection molding route.

I would appreciate if somebody can point me to the right way of building the overall product.

Attachments

• AltAzm - front.pdf
    16.8 KB · Views: 47
  • Image 4-29-19 at 12.30 AM.jpg
    Image 4-29-19 at 12.30 AM.jpg
    38.2 KB · Views: 275
  • AltAzm - front.jpg
    AltAzm - front.jpg
    52.7 KB · Views: 199
  • AltAzm - side.jpg
    AltAzm - side.jpg
    64.9 KB · Views: 198
  • AltAzm - top.jpg
    AltAzm - top.jpg
    69.2 KB · Views: 177
From what I see, you don't need "how to make", you need "what to make". Right now you don't have even a sensible mechanical concept, let alone design drawings.

Sincere advice - find a local mechanical engineer. You may ultimately have a good idea/concept, but you need someone actually skilled in the art of engineering (or at least mechanical design) to help you realize it.