What's new
What's new

Desperately need help cutting threads

Cec330

Plastic
I took a new job this week as an operator only to find out that the previous fella that ran this machine wiped all the programs out of the machine. I need help writing a program to cut 12 tpi I’m assuming that I’ll have to use the G32 code? I’ve never programmed a lathe before and am pretty lost. They are internal threads 1.125” deep inside of a 5.410 inside diameter. Just an example program would help a bunch. Thank you in advance for any help.

What controller?

Just program it up in cam software if you don’t know how to write gcode?

Im confused how someone who doesn’t know anything about a cnc lathe can end up programming one?

It’s a hitaci seiki with a seicos j300L control. I’ve operated turning centers in the past and have edited programs but have only written one program. I don’t have no cam software. No one in this shop knows anything about this machine I was just thrown to the wolves.

It’s a hitaci seiki with a seicos j300L control. I’ve operated turning centers in the past and have edited programs but have only written one program. I don’t have no cam software. No one in this shop knows anything about this machine I was just thrown to the wolves.

Bloody hell this is ridiculous & downright dangerous!!!You need proper training & experience to run CNC & manual machines.Your so called managers need to get a grip & organise training etc.
Tony

Tony I’ve been a machinist since 1993 it’s all I’ve ever done, I’ve operated every machine tool you can think of I’ve just never programmed a turning center. I’m just asking for help figuring out how to cut these threads.

Yes I have a programming manual but it says nothing about how to program threading.