What's new
What's new

Drilling 316 Stainless Steel Speeds And Feeds

Oldandcrazy

Plastic
I have read the many threads here on the fact that 316 Stainless is special to work with and I have a special situation that needs some old school help.

I'm trying to drill into 4mm of 316 Bohler stainless steel plate with a Gurhing Step 1.2mm (.0472inch) drill bits. I am using a multiple drill system or gang drill to make multiple holes at the same time.

I'm breaking bits because I know my feed and speed are not right and I admit that I am new at doing this. PLUS

The machine is limited to 2500 rpm or slower
It's feed is controlled by a dial that looks like a dimmer switch so has to be done by watching it go down and timing it.

Any old school suggestions would be great.

I have read the many threads here on the fact that 316 Stainless is special to work with and I have a special situation that needs some old school help.

I'm trying to drill into 4mm of 316 Bohler stainless steel plate with a Gurhing Step 1.2mm (.0472inch) drill bits. I am using a multiple drill system or gang drill to make multiple holes at the same time.

I'm breaking bits because I know my feed and speed are not right and I admit that I am new at doing this. PLUS

The machine is limited to 2500 rpm or slower
It's feed is controlled by a dial that looks like a dimmer switch so has to be done by watching it go down and timing it.

Any old school suggestions would be great.

is it a cobalt drill ?
are you using coolant or cutting fluid ?
are you pecking ?
when drill is dull are you stopping to replace with sharp one or are you continuing to use til it breaks ?
most do not use max recommended rpm. max rpm recommendations are from salesman to sell you more drill bits

is it a cobalt drill ?

High Speed Steel with Tin coating

are you using coolant or cutting fluid ?

I am using 11% HOCUT coolant

are you pecking ?

I cannot peck