What's new
What's new

Emco 120 CNC lathe

JRouche

Stainless
I private messaged this to "Wrench" but his box was full so I figured this was the best route. Thanks for any help guys.....

Hi.. Glad to see you are knowledgeable with the emco 120...

I just bought a 120 and I may need some support in the future, or now actualy. So I just wanted to introduce myself and get in contact with you.

The lathe looks to be in pretty good shape.

I actually don’t know though because I have not started it yet.

I have the transformer, cool.

I am just a home shop hobbyist so no three phase.

I did make a balanced leg(s) rotary converter a few years ago. I power my Bridgeport CNC mill with it. The mill only needs the three phase for the spindle drive though because the control is an “Ah-ha” control which is single phase.

My RPC is somewhat balanced as far as I know due to the build specs and a simple voltage measurements, static and during full power.

But after reading as much I can find, the emco control needs a really stable and balanced line voltage.

So, I have not attempted a power up with the RPC yet, but I will, just to see.

I want to learn more about this lathe first before turning it on to prevent any mishaps.

Some questions I have are concerning the tape programs or system configuration tapes.

Where will I find the tape if it is still on the system? There is a micro cassette on the face of the control box. I have removed it but it has some hand written notes saying something about a program. It does not look like a factory (emco) tape.

I do have some documents for the machine but it does not talk about the parameters tape.

Also, the previous owner looks to have made a quick getaway and removed the transformer wiring for the output. The supply, or line voltage wire is intact but the output or supply for the lathe is not there. Do you have a schematic or description of that linkage?