What's new
What's new

End mill cut diameters completely out -of-the-park

snowshooze

Stainless
Hi Guys!
I was cutting a 1/4" keyway with a 3/16" end mill today, and broke my end mill.
I said, ok.. that one has paid out... I gotta nother one there in the pile..
I pulled a brand new sealed Imco 3/16" 4 flute outta the box.. tossed it into a practically brand new Teknics side lock cat 40 holder...
And as I recently added Renishaw Probe and tool-setter to that mill, I sent it to the tool setter for length and diameter, so I could work with real sizes in CAD/CAM.
This brand new end-mill come up as .1542" diameter.
That is just below 5/32"
Now, 5 or 6 years ago, when I was a completely old world machinist... I would have been screaming and throwing shit.
I am glad I caught this.
But, it isn't the first time.
I measured by Renishaw the last one, supposed to be 3/16" as well, and came up with a number... .1866"
Can anybody tell me what the heck is up with this???
Thanks again!
Mark

End Mills have tolerances, look them up on McMaster-Carr the tolerances are listed.

Mistakes happen at every level, there isn't a question about whether that is true or not.

But you haven't posted what your Micrometer told you. Or Comparator, or Height Gage and Vee block. Whatever method you use to gather a second measurement.

R

You should have been able to pick that up visually...

So what does the tool actually measure??? Is this a tool problem,
or a probe problem??

I did.
Probe is fine, finished part all aces, but if I did a slot on the bridgeport, I would have expected a 3/16" end-mill to cut on-size, or a bit over.

It was seriously .154??? .1866 I wouldn't bitch about, but .154??

Imco is generally pretty damn good.. I hope you picked up the phone.

I've only ever called Imco once, and it was for tech support.. It was easily the
best tech support I've ever gotten.. I called about some A286, and when I realized the