What's new
What's new

Everything about machining aluminium, can you help?

ricardo_gt

Aluminum
I have a litle knowledge about aluminium and how to machine it.
From what i know:
- Very sharp inserts must be used;
- 45 deg, 2 fluts mills must be used;
- HSM milling are not allowed if machine can´t afford at least 60/70HP reliable power;
- Tool coating should be avoied.

I will have to machine a lot of aluminium in next months, lathe and mills will be used to do it. I do not think my knowledge about it is enough to machine the fastest and reliable way i can. What advices can you share about this subject?
Thank you!
Best regards!

Oddly enough, I use almost exclusively 3 flute endmills for aluminum.

HSM paths any time I can get a depth of cut more than about half the endmill's width, while typically using less than 1hp.

Very sharp endmills are a good idea.

I like coatings on my larger roughers.

But then again, I'm not an expert on such things.

- HSM milling are not allowed if machine can´t afford at least 60/70HP reliable power;

Frankly none of this is canon, except probably sharp inserts.

We use three flutes as much as possible, and aluminum-specific models such as YG's Alu-power or Destiny's Viper. They work very well. Multiple tooling companies are also making higher flute-count tools for HSM roughing and finishing operations to reduce cycle time and increase finish quality. I have two samples right now that are 5-flute aluminum roughers for low-engagement toolpaths.

Lower helix can work well also. M.A. Ford makes an awesome 3-flute end mill we use for some aluminum extrusion (8020 basically) that we use dry. IIRC it's a 37° helix, but I'll try to remember to check when I'm back at work tomorrow.

HSM is absolutely a great idea! In fact it works better on low-power machines, and we utilize it constantly on our Haas and even the Fadal.