What's new
What's new

Fadal board pictures, please tell me if they are compatible

ripperj

Stainless
In my on-going saga of adding rigid tapping to my 93 VMC 20 with DC drives.
I bought the machine a couple months ago. It was having some weird spindle drive issues that I seem to have sorted out (with the original not rigid tap spindle drive)

The machine had a 1400-4 cpu card and a 1010-1 spindle drive card (not rigid tapping capable)

I bought a 1010-4 spindle card with rigid tapping EPROMs from ITSCNC. I also bought the max memory upgrade(422k) for the cpu

As I have mentioned in other posts- adding rigid tapping is kicking my butt. I don’t normally have hours upon hours uninterrupted, but today I decided to get it done.

I checked every wire, connector , and jumper , parameter in the drive and the CNC. A few weeks back I was thinking something wasn’t right in the cnc parameters, but I’m new at this Fadal thing.

I need to call ITS next week and ask them a simple question, but if someone here knows the answer, I’ll keep looking for another problem, I have the rest of today and tomorrow to spend on this.

My CPU card is 1400-4 , but I think some weasel swapped the EPROMs for an older version that does not support rigid tapping ? There is no parameter y/n for rigid tapping and the gain and ramp parameters that I thought were for rigid tapping may be for the other drives??

Can CPU EPROMs version V91.3f-3 work with rigid tap EPROMs V92.1Z?

Based on the fact that the machine had the WIR-0160 (rigid tapping cable) running between the CPU cabinet and the drive cabinet, had an encoder and cable run to the Baldor H2 Vector drive, I had assumed that the seller took the rigid tapping spindle card .
I never dawned on me that someone may have swapped the CPU EPROMs too

I had asked ITSCNC if the rigid tapping spindle card was compatible with all 1400-4 cpu cards and was told yes, but they obviously wouldn’t know if something weird happened to the EPROMs