What's new
What's new

Fadal Purchase Guidance Wanted

chris.sallis

Plastic
Sorry for the long post ahead. I’m looking for purchasing advice and want to provide a background first. I’m a research engineer at The University of Alabama in Huntsville. Most of my machining background is CNC routers, 4-axis hot wire CNC (designed and built myself), and manual knee mills. Our research center has a machine shop with all the standard equipment: manual knee mills, lathes, saws, etc. We also have a 94 Lagun KMC 250 that hasn’t run in over 10 years and a 2001 Victor 1654 DCM that lost is parameters and barely works as a NC machine. We have traditionally used on-call machinist for our work, but they have recently left. I plan to take over all the CNC machining operations if we get to replace our machines with something functional. I’m wanting to make a sales pitch to our center director to remove both of those machines and replace it with something functional. I started down the Fadal path based on what I’ve learned due to my own desire to eventually put a 4020 in my garage one day.

The only machining work we do is prototype work or very low volume production to support our research contracts. We will never do high volume machining and don’t have the desire to do that. Cycle time is not a big concern because of the low volume and one-off operations and even a slow cycle time would be faster than doing it manually. Most of the parts we make are plate type parts and brackets. 90% of the parts we make are aluminum, the rest being steel or plastics. My area of research is unmanned aircraft and I want the ability to do lots of 3D machining to make aluminum molds for composite parts.