What's new
What's new

Fadal regular leak

sidetrack50

Aluminum
OK....this is annoying, can't seem to figure out why this valve/regulator leaks air on start up and when I turn the spindle on, it leaks out of the bottom where there is a plastic screw that's hollow in the center. It leaks enough that my 60 gal 2 stage air compressor comes on. It does eventually go off but back on when I turn the spindle on. Any ideas....see picture.
leaking fadal regulator.jpg

Take it out and inspect it what makes it tick shouldn’t be to hard to figure that little SOB out

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Take it out and inspect it what makes it tick shouldn’t be to hard to figure that little SOB out

LoL....I think you are right I was looking for an easy way out, I'm new to the machine so don't know any of its quirks.

There might be a float on the end of it that is sticking up when the pressure goes down

Its called a WATTS FLUIDAIR.....Qube Coalescing Filter, 1/4" Ports, Metal W/O Sight Gauge, 40 Micron, Auto Drain, only $155watts fluidair.jpgwatts fluidair part #.jpg

Its plugged up with shit.
Take it apart, and gently clean everything. Over the years, they tend to gum up.
Had the same issue on a spindle purge filter on a Studer universal grinder.

Its plugged up with shit.
Take it apart, and gently clean everything. Over the years, they tend to gum up.
Had the same issue on a spindle purge filter on a Studer universal grinder.

I took it apart and was surprised to see how clean it was inside, I'll look it over real good to see if something is sticking or worn out.
watts fluidair apart.jpg

If it is working fine I suspect that your air pressure is set too low and it is actually doing it's job (draining water out when it is at low pressure). What do you have your compressor set to?
Does that Fadal use air cooling around the spindle? Could be that it is dropping too low when that happens.

it is actually doing it's job (draining water out when it is at low pressure).