What's new
What's new

FADAL VM40 Homing issue/TC issue

niq0316

Plastic
Hello guys and gals i am in IT by trade but i have always been interested in CNC machining. I reason i mention that is my vocabulary and presentation of the issue might be off so please be as specific as you can be. Thanks in advance.

I recently bought a FADAL VM40 and put it in the garage. It powers up and i can jog it around. This machine came with a 4th axis. I will eventually use it but for now i want to just focus on 3 with just a single vise. So here is what i did -
1. Took 4th axis off machine physically.
2. Put the cap over the 4th axis connector.
3. In parameters i set it to just use 3 instead of 4 axis.

Am i missing anything? Is this all that is needed?

So at this point i assumed i did everything. Granted i am doing this with google and the fadal manuals. I then need to home the machine. So i lined up the x y z with the lines and hit CS in command prompt. Is this all that is needed for setting the home position? The reason i ask...this machine came with some demo programs when it was being sold. So i ran one to see if it would work. As soon as it went to change to the next tool the tool changer moved in correctly but it z'd down right into the tool changer. There is no tool in the spindle or any tool station.
Why did this happen?
How do i get it unstuck?
I can jog z up...but then what?

Thanks for your time!

It sounds like you're doing things right to me? One thing to note is that sometimes you can CS it but end up in the wrong position, so I usually check the lines afterwards too. Was there another move after the CS move? On ours we have another move after the CS (I guess a "homing" move) which moves the machine zero to another spot on the table (maybe yours is moving it to a different and incorrect Z level too?).