What's new
What's new

Fanuc 15M Series A FRUSTRATIONS

flylo31

Aluminum
I have very little to no Fanuc experience. That being said, I purchase an older Kitamura with an Fanuc control figuring it is time to learn. I have worked with Hurco, Centroid and Siemens controls in the past and I seem to always have problem with the Fanuc whenever I give it a try... I purchased a Titan DNC to load a program into the machine. I installed a short program to test the setup and have not been able to get the machine to read the program. I tried drip feed in edit and nothing. Is there anyone who can give me a step by step on feeding the program into the machine?
I have watched numerous videos trying different methods and nothing. The machine works perfectly with the old programs stored in it.

Loading parameters of DNC: Protocol RS232, Flow Control software, Code ASCII/ISO, Baudrate 9600, Data Bits 7, Parity even, Stop bits 2.

Obviously operator error... any help appreciated.

I will ask the obvious - have you set the CNC's I/O params to what the device wants?
Also, your RS-232 cable needs to be be configured properly.

I will ask the obvious - have you set the CNC's I/O params to what the device wants?
Also, your RS-232 cable needs to be be configured properly.

What Doug said is important. But the machine may already be properly setup since someone got programs into it already. Whatever you are using to send must be setup the same way as the machine. The cable is probably the culprit because you cannot use any old RS232 cable. One is no handshake, the other is full handshake. Either method determines what type of cable you need.

RS232 Cable Pinout.jpgRS232 Cable.jpg

Well, I feel like an idiot. I thought about Doug’s comment about the obvious and stated from scratch. When I changed the baudrate in the DNC to match the machine, it did not save. I guess when you stare at something long enough your eyes glaze over.... You guys have always been a great help, thank you very much