What's new
What's new

Fanuc 18i M codes

manyponies

Plastic
I'm new to Fanuc controls and have a 18i-m. How do I view the available m codes that are in the control from the machine builder. Thanks!

I'm new to Fanuc controls and have a 18i-m. How do I view the available m codes that are in the control from the machine builder. Thanks!

Hello manyponies,
Conventional M Codes, such as Spindle CW/CCW, Stop, Coolant Om/Off etc, will be found in the Fanuc Operator's Manual. Others that are assigned by the MTB will be listed in the machine's operating.programming manual, not the Januc Manual.

Regards,

Bill

Thanks for the reply Bill. The difficulty is that ALL the documentation I received with the machine was destroyed in a fire shortly after getting the machine. I was wondering if there was a way to pull the codes out of the control

On my OT and 21T Fanuc the only codes listed on the control itself are what codes are currently active and I believe it only shows G codes. Your best bet is to list year, make and model of machine and eventually someone will have a list. Worst cause scenario you can always just input codes manually in MDI and see what happens. Every machine I have operated is full proof in that instance. It will alarm out if you try rotating the spindle at high rpm with the brake engaged or something similar.

I have been able to establish some of the 900 series M codes by looking at the tool change and pallet change programs. My Pallet and tool change programs have individual M codes for things like pallet clamp, doors opening ect. Is there a particular method to use, parameter setting or code in order to be able to run theses codes individually to do maintenance. When I try to MDI the 900 M codes nothing happens.

When I try to MDI the 900 M codes nothing happens.