What's new
What's new

Fanuc Turning - Shifting G54 Z after parting

nkburdick

Plastic
Hello All,

I'm new to CAM and could use a little help to do this op the right way. Here's what I'm trying to do.

We're making 6 parts out of a single bar on our Fanuc i-series turning center. We set our initial G54 per normal. Then I'd like the program to run to completion and right at the end shift the G54 Z-0.962 incrementally from where it does that parting operation.

Then we can cycle start again after we clear the part and it will run the second part with that new G54 face location. We're not making a ton of these, so I'm happy to have the operator just re-run the program manually. I don't want to run a sub-program with multiple parts for this one.

I tried to add the following at the end of my program, but I got a bad G-code error: G91 G10 L2 P1 X0 Z-0.962

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Nick

There are 3 ways that I know how to that.

1. Use G54, G55, G56, G57, G58 and G59 work offsets.
2. Use one work offset G54 and program each part subtracting 0.962 in Z for each new part from previous one.
3. Use G10 for first part like G10 P0 Z2.5 (The 2.5 number is just a guess) and then shift G10 P0 at the start of each new part .962" each time.

There are 3 ways that I know how to that.

1. Use G54, G55, G56, G57, G58 and G59 work offsets.
2. Use one work offset G54 and program each part subtracting 0.962 in Z for each new part from previous one.
3. Use G10 for first part like G10 P0 Z2.5 (The 2.5 number is just a guess) and then shift G10 P0 at the start of each new part .962" each time.

@fancuku. #2 is the one that I'm looking for. Any thoughts on a G-code line that would programmatically accomplish that shift?

I tried to add the following at the end of my program, but I got a bad G-code error: G91 G10 L2 P1 X0 Z-0.962

Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Nick

Hello Nick,