What's new
What's new

Fanuc Subspindle positioning questions

zschary

Aluminum
Finally getting to the sub spindle on a Romi E320 with a fanuc 18i control. I noticed that the subspindle positioning is a negative number when activating the part transfer codes, I imagine that is because when I am positioning it within a program it is within the control of the main spindle? I am thinking about using a g55 for the sub and using offsets 21-32 for the sub tool offsets.. (turret has 12 positions) so tool one would be 0101 for main and 0121 for sub? is that a good way to go? one of the main questions is when in the g55 side of things working on the sub does the negative tool movement in z work the same, so negative is toward the chuck? This may all be wrong, and I am open to any easier ways to go about this, this lathe does have sync on the spindles, and I am just really trying to get my head around the offsets on sub lathes as I am very new to them.. The cam program I am working on can be set up to do just about anything, what is the best way to go? thoughts?
thank you

I add 30 to my offset number(T0131) since each of my turrets has 24 possible tool positions but whatever makes sense for you will work. Use G55 for sub and Z- will always be to your left so to move towards the sub chuck will be a positive number.

All of the sub werk on any of our lathes is all positive.

0121 is fine.

----------------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

Don't know how the Romi is set up, but on a Mori every coordinate follows the very same common direction for all operations regardless of which chuck you're working on.
IOW regardless of what you're doing, X+/-, Y+/-, Z +/-, C +/- and spindle Fw/Rev is common.
X+ is away from center line, X- is towards the centerline.
Y+ is above centerline, Y- is below centerline.
Z- is towards main spindle, Z+ is away from main spindle.
Spindle Forward is CW on main spindle, CCW on subspindle.
Tools have inserts pointing down on Main side, pointing up on sub.