What's new
What's new

Fanuc tool number versus pot number

rbmgf7

Aluminum
I heard you don't have to match the tool number to the pot in the machine, e.g. T1 can be in pot 10, not pot 1.

If so, wondering how I go about making this change? I'm new to the role but we have a 120 pot machine that has tools in a lot of random places. I have taps for drills that are on the other side of the carousel and it takes forever to cycle to get to the tool.

I have the Fanuc manuals (31i) but it's no clear about how to do setup this configuration. Is it a macro program?

Thanks.

What machine? Most machines with an 31i should have random type tool storage. The last tool out of the spindle will be put into the pot of the one going in. On the older controls there are D registers that keep the tool and pot data. Some machines let you use a Keep Relay to turn off random, that would have the tool and pot numbers matching, but be slower.

I heard you don't have to match the tool number to the pot in the machine, e.g. T1 can be in pot 10, not pot 1.

If so, wondering how I go about making this change? I'm new to the role but we have a 120 pot machine that has tools in a lot of random places. I have taps for drills that are on the other side of the carousel and it takes forever to cycle to get to the tool.

I have the Fanuc manuals (31i) but it's no clear about how to do setup this configuration. Is it a macro program?

Thanks.

How the tool numbers and pots are assigned and handled is determined by the machine builder, not Fanuc. You will need to consult the machine builder's documentation.

What machine is this on? Do you preselect tools in your program to stage the next tool while the current operation is running? or do you call the next tool AT the tool change line in the program?