What's new
What's new

First CNC lathe--Omni turn 75

Lost in LA

Cast Iron
I am thinking about purchasing a Omniturn 75 CNC lathe with a bar feed, I will be mostly running mild steel parts under 5/8 inch diameter and 1 to 2 inches long. Quanties are in the range of 5000 pcs per part.

Some have external threads and some have internal threads but all are relatively simple parts.

I have a Traub A25 that I run at times, so I have some experience.

Since this is my first time into CNC I need some help on the basic questions I should ask the dealer. Also, I would like to hear from anyone who has experience on this machine.

How is Omniturns service after sales?
Can I run soluble oil instead of cutting oil?
Thanks
Lost

Why Omni-turn ? is it because you're tight on space? if you have the space there are heavier/better high production machines for relatively the same amount of $.

In machines of that size, I'd rather have a machine by Cubic. http://www.cubicmachinery.com/ they look nice

"Why Omni-turn ? is it because you're tight on space? if you have the space there are heavier/better high production machines for relatively the same amount of $."

SND, can you state which machines you have in mind?

Thanks,

Paul T.

Yang has the SL-12 that if I remember right is in the low 40's. There was a practically new one on ebay not long ago for 30 something. Which puts it close to the Omni-turn at over 37K. You can also even look at Haas. I would bet their GT-10 and GT-20 would be better, and they are at a lower price. There's a few other brands of bigger production gang-tooled machines that escape me now.

I was looking at the Omni-turn myself because I am very limited on space. I was also looking at CMS/SNK, and cubic(bigger, but very nice). In the end I decided to wait until I have more space.

SND--Space is a bit of a problem but I prefer to buy American when I can. Omni turn is made in the USA.

I am still looking at Haas.

Lost