What's new
What's new

first CNC machine purchase, advice wanted

Stang Bladeworks

Aluminum
Hi,

I am looking to purchase a new cnc machine (mill) and I am looking for some advice. I am a hobbyist knifemaker from Canada. I currently manually machine my knives and hand grinding / finish everything. This has been a great way to learn but it is very slow. I have been fortunate enough to have a small demand build up for my work and I am looking at a CNC to help my throughput. I would like to be able to keep my prices lower while still making some extra money to grow my shop capabilities and provide a supplemental income. I am not looking to take on any extra cnc work (job shop)

My background in cnc or machining at all is ZERO. I could not be more of a beginner. I am willing to do what it takes to learn and I fully understand that you don't just push a button and get perfect parts. I am trying to learn the programming through online courses in my spare time. I still plan to do a lot by hand but if I can get the knife mechanically working with the cnc I will be happy. Anything above that is a bonus.

The materials I need to cut are titanium, stainless steel (hard and soft) and phenolics (g10, cf, micarta. I don't need to take massive cuts but I do need decent accuracy especially when it comes to locating holes. I would need to be within a half thou on my hole locations.

I started out looking at tormachs. I was set on an 1100mx. My plan was to generate some funds and add a tool changer at a later date. After a fair but of research almost everyone seemed to recommend jumping up to a haas machine considering the cost of the tormach.

I began looking into new haas machines since the used market in my area (Alberta Canada)is limited. I am also not overly comfortable purchasing used since my knowledge of these machines is limited. I am willing to save a little longer to buy new.