What's new
What's new

In floor heat question

alliancefab

Hot Rolled
I am in the process of finishing up my new building and radiant heat is an option to me.

My question is has anyone had any problems with the foam under the pad with heavy machines on the floor. I have 2 10,000 pound machining centers (soon to be 3 ) and a 6500 pound CNC lathe.

I post this in here because I want people who have CNC machines/Heavy machines with experience with in floor heat.

Or any other issues that may come up with in floor heat.

Thanks in advance

Jason,

Have a plan to repair the water lines if you ever need to cut a hole in the concrete for some type of foundation. Know the location of the lines so you can miss them when installing anchor bolts if/when needed. Go thicker on the concrete if you are worried but with 6 in. you should be ok with those machines. Disclaimer; I pour concrete for a living but have never done the radiant heat. Not much need for it here but I have spent a lot of time thinking about it just in case it comes up. I have used the foam boards under the slab for freezers and my clients have installed full pallet racks and mid-sized forklifts on top of them with no problems.

When I bought my foam from a local producer, it was available as 1 lb and 2 lb.

The 2 lb will withstand more weight.

Aside from machines that need a special foundation, the foam has the same bearing capacity as the dirt below.

use the pex with the oxygen liner, it really never dies

I will say the shop local to me had issues with temperature control, our machines generate so much heat they add more than you need, and they ended up opening the door in the winter a lot.

If you ever need AC, it is a second system, so ponder that.

I love it in a garage because you actually have to lay on the floor sometimes