What's new
What's new

G02 and G03 Radius Calculations

AMCarson

Plastic
Ok so I was given a task to fix some of the programs at my job and reprogram some of the radii. I am have a bit of an issue with this as my print for this particular part only gives the size of the radius and the location of the middle of said radius, how do I calculate to find the beginning and end points of say a R.375 with the middle located at -4.502 off the face of the part using G02 and a R.750 located at -5.684 off the face using G0315731575053601605119177.jpg

Pic has been added, sorry I'm a noob in a small mom and pop shop left to learn on my own

... eh, the middle off to where?

I'm not exactly a noob at these things but I have no idea what you mean :D

The middle of the radius....I gave the location from the face of the part to the middle of the radius as my print doesn't give start and end point as shown in the pic in my first post

The middle of the radius....I gave the location from the face of the part to the middle of the radius as my print doesn't give start and end point as shown in the pic in my first post
Oh we're talking lathes, yeah I don't even qualify as a noob at lathes :)

But well sure:

If you want the start and end points the easiest way is probably to load some simple sketching software (Cimco, TrigFix, practically any cad or whatever) and draw the straight lines and add the radii. Tho of course calculating that CAN be done.

But why do you need them? Can't you just program G1 ,R on your lathe? If I'd treat this as a milling detail and I assume smaller piece radius is 10 and bigger is 20, just something like

G1 X-10
G1 Y-40,R.375
G1 X-20 Y-30,R.750
G1 Y0

I'm sure you'll find people who are more helpful tho ;)

To help you further in an easy way: