What's new
What's new

G54 Z offset? Avoid teaching every tool, every part?

Higgins909

Aluminum
I'm a very basic operator at this point and I sometimes work with HAAS mills. Some don't have tool setters and even the ones that do might be broken or are just not used for whatever reason. There is a lot of tool stealing from the machines as one part on another machine might need X tool(s) that happens to be in X machine(s) and not in use. (Limited tooling)(We also have a habit of storing unused tools in the machines and still have all the old tool data set)

Usually we teach each tool for each operation, even if it uses the same tools. I recently setup a machine and touched all the tools to the top of the raw material of the part, for the first op. When I got to the 2nd op I chose tool 1 and found it's 0 spot (Machine position?) and set the operator screen's Z to 0. I noticed if I switched tool, the operator Z zero would change, this is because it is set based on the machine position? (In other words, to find the difference I need to use the same tool?) Then I went and found the difference for the 2nd op and in this case it was 0.5004" added to the G54-57 Z column. The problem I found with this, if the jaws/part were different, I couldn't reteach a tool, if it were to break. I was thinking what if I put a 123 block on the table and set the tools from the 3" length.

I also noticed that you can "Part Zero Set" for the Z column in G54 offsets. (In addition to the XY that I was taught) How do you properly use this? Is this for a tool setter? It would be super nice to just press that if all the tools were already taught to say the 123 block. How would you do this?

For those that wonder how I'm doing with the Lathe canned cycles, I haven't gotten far. I tried the book and am always tired (Like I should probably see a doctor but... yeah...) and never have a good place to study...

Thanks,
Higgins909