What's new
What's new

general ? on oscilloscopes

dsergison

Diamond
I have a Tree J325 manual that describes using an oscilloscope to tune the servo drives yearly.

-and they may need looked at, i bought the machine used, and have not done it in the three years I've owned it although i dont put many hours on it.

is a usb oscilloscope a decent option? they seem inexpensive.

what is a good "general use" inexpensive scope?

I have zero experience with electronics in general but I can read and learn.

Thanks, Dan

I looked into this also knowing nothing about oscilloscopes. I wanted to tune the servos on my hurco. An electrical engineer friend that the usb ones (common as dirt on ebay) can only handle low voltages and a couple of amps and trying to use one for this purpose would likely fry it.

Most anything Tektronix on ebay is the best bet, the LCD ones are nice light and portable but they are still very pricey.
The USB ones mentioned may be a USB capture unit that turns a PC into a scope, and they work very well for low frequency, but they are essentially a storage scope as they capture and display, but they do not display in real time like a regular like Tektronix etc, Which can be a bit of a pain if you are trying to tune a wave form.
The one nice feature of the USB port type is if you are looking for a very infrequent noise etc, they can be set to only capture on a certain spike level say, so nothing happens until the noise or spike etc appears, then it is stored and can be retrieved at a later time.
M.

I have an old Tek 500 series scope that works fine for this. Your not talking about a very fast signal. Just looking for bounce in the output.