What's new
What's new

Getting crazy here , holes drilled off center - please help!

dimbmw

Plastic
Hi everyone

I am a newbie trying hard to figure out what the heck is going on here. I have a cnc converted Sieg X2 mini mill with ball screws.

Here is the problem - I make a hole in a piece of aluminum (either drill or mill), then I try to indicate it with the micrometer, and the hole is off center by about 0.1 mm on Y axis and 0.5 mm on X axis.

I checked everything. Gibs are tightened, no play in anything. Backlash is compensated. Everything looks good.

It is driving me nuts, I am fighting with this piece of crap for a week, and no progress.

What can cause this weird thing?

Please!?

Hi everyone

I am a newbie trying hard to figure out what the heck is going on here. I have a cnc converted Sieg X2 mini mill with ball screws.

Here is the problem - I make a hole in a piece of aluminum (either drill or mill), then I try to indicate it with the micrometer, and the hole is off center by about 0.1 mm on Y axis and 0.5 mm on X axis.

I checked everything. Gibs are tightened, no play in anything. Backlash is compensated. Everything looks good.

It is driving me nuts, I am fighting with this piece of crap for a week, and no progress.

What can cause this weird thing?

Please!?

You said it, Piece of crap. Toss it in the scrap skip and get a real mill.

So basically the simpliest experiment I’ve done to eliminate as much causes as possible was this: I set just set x=0, y=0 above the spot where I intended to drill. Then I took a spot drill, slowly deeped it into the aluminum, and then just lift it up, not moving the table, so x and y were still at zero on the DRO. Then i took a 0.0005” starlet micrometer, and tried to indicate the hole just drilled - and it was off center.