What's new
What's new

Getting Started

Ritz

Plastic
Quick background...my intro to machining anything was as a youngster working at the ancestral family business (a car repair and tuning shop since the 30's). So I have some experience in doing things like machining brake discs/drums and fabricating parts out of aluminum on a crude mill. Sometimes a part just wasn't available and you had to improvise. I've done some basic machining recently with a cheapo HarborFreight mill and some jigs to finish off some parts for various gunsmithing projects (another interest of mine along with hotrodding cars and woodworking).

So I've got this cheap Sieg/HF mill and some basic tooling and I'd like some advice on how to get better at this. I've thought of joining a local "maker coop". If you had an eager recruit today and could offer some advice on where to start if they were interested in doing CNC projects in materials like aluminum and wood, what advice would you give them? I've got a good job and a fair amount of space to work with and am not particularly budget constrained. Just looking to develop good habits and improve my understanding. I'm a computer guy so CNC tools have me intrigued. You mean I could just write some code and bang out cool stuff? Awesome!

Where's the best place to start?

Best,

Where in Virginia are you? Check your local community colleges. Not all have machining departments, so also check neighboring communities...

I spent most of 2014-2016 taking machining classes at DeAnza community college (Cupertino, CA). Found that to be a very effective way to get some hands on time (on industrial quality machines) and good instruction on the basics. A makerspace or coop will likely limit you to more hobby / home shop grade machines like your Sieg and possibly up to something like a Tormach. I've since bought a "real" machine (Okuma M560), but wouldn't have known enough to do so without the community college education...