What's new
What's new

Good, Budget Coolant

Ox

Diamond
I have been using this for a bit now and I feel that it is worth puting out there for y'all to see.

I have been running Trim SOL for >25 yrs now, and haven't tried anything else in the mean time.

I was turned on to this recently, and was lead to believe that it was a "base product" from Master Chemical. (which would be "SOL")
But this is 2/3 the money, and believe me that I have been pitchin' a fit about the co$t of SOL as it has almost doubled in the last 9 years - even tho crude has went in half. :angry:

So - I gave it a go...

Right outta the gate - I knew that this was NOT "SOL".
It might be some other Trim product, but it's not SOL.
And I had my doubts that it was a Trim product at all as it had a slightly different smell.
I have been smelling SOL for >25 yrs, and I have been to the factory oodles of times, I know what Master Chemical smells like.

Also - I noticed that this did not mix in at the bucket quite as easily as I expect SOL to.
Also - the color is a bit darker than SOL.
So....

Anyhow - the product is from Fastenall.
This is possibly the first thing that I have ever bought from Fastenall.

55Gal Drum Dark Blue SharpCool(R) Water Soluble Multi-Purpose Metalworking Fluid
| Fastenal

Cutting and Metalworking Fluids
| Fastenal

After 3 (?) months, I have found it to be BETTER than SOL IM/HO.

After looking through the website linked above, I believe whole heartedly that this is NOT a Master Chemical product.
Master Chemical IS listed as a supplier for many of their products, and the prices there are in line with what I would expect for Trim products.
This is listed as a re-labeled product, and at qty of "55" gallons, and Master Chemical always lists theirs as "54 gallon".
And you can see evidence of that on the web page listed above as well.

Now - it could be made at Master Chemical, IDK, but if it is, it is disguised a bit from normal product and sold WAY under retail.