What's new
What's new

I am a newbie in a box way world, maybe you guys can help me?

Sofya

Plastic
Disclaimer: I don't know if this a dumb question, but I really need help so please don't judge me :D

I am currently designing a CNC Machine and thinking about making a box way system instead of a linear motion guide. Since the stroke of the machine is quite large and it is difficult to get any grinding machine to get it done, is it possible to have both surfaces of the box way covered by turcite B? Or is it has to be one cast iron and one turcite B surface?

You can not run Turcite against Turcite. You need a differential hardness.

I fail to see how that solves your problem? You have one long axis, in which you don't have a grinder long enough to make. How does cladding that with Turcite take away the fact it needs to be the datum? Flat / straight etc.

main point with Turcite is the turcite worn half can have Turcite reapplied and Turcite machined. the Cast iron other half often needs remachining but normally its small amounts like <.004" cause metal last longer than Turcite

@Sofya what size is your intended travel / travels ?

Don't have a giant gantry style Okuma surface grinder no problem...

^^^ (re- introducing) the... Janko- grinder; makes you think though in terms of what can be improved upon if in a real jam and held at gun point.

Re machtool's point about flatness / datum … Hand scraping seems to have endured for a very long time (I think) simply because large cast iron assemblies can be rendered to extraordinary levels of flatness and straight ness (if you know what you are doing / have experience / skills .) without having to buy a giant multimillion dollar surface grinding machine.

Depending on length of travels; you may have to get familiar with the correct use of autocollimators for mapping out flatness straightness and parallelism.