What's new
What's new

HAAS Rs232 drip feeding solutions in 2019

D Dubeau

Hot Rolled
We've got a couple older Haas mills, that we drip feed programs to. We've managed to keep a small fleet of older computers with physical Rs232 ports going over the years, and all has been good. I'm down to the last 3 computers, with no spares, and one of them is getting flaky and dropping code. I just cleaned it all out and swapped motherboard fans hoping that it was just because the computer was running a bit hot, but I really don't know what the issue is. It just dropped out again (same program, different spot) while typing this, even though it's running noticeably cooler now.

In case you haven't figured out yet I'm not very tech savvy, and kind of just get by with the knowledge of this forum and others in matters related to computer issues. I could continue to repair and source older hardware as we've been doing for years, but is there any other solutions that exist that I don't know about? Some quick googling has determined that a raspberry pi is not suitable for reasons I don't really understand, but some smarter people than I have determined to be true (no true rs232, board voltage issues?), so I just take it at face value. We've tried a USB to serial converter a couple years ago, but it wasn't reliable on longer running programs.

The programs we're running are anywhere from 10 minutes long to 10+ hours long. Loading into the control is not really an option, as it just takes too long for one off programs. Things used to be great with barely any hiccups, but the last couple years it seems the house of cards is falling down more, and more often.