What's new
What's new

Which Haas for Starting Out?

fizzpie22

Plastic
Hi all,
I am a mechanical engineer just starting to launch a business in prototyping. I have a decent amount of CNC experience through my day job, but this will be my first "real" CNC. What should I buy? I can swing the money for any of these, but it will require tapping into personal savings quite a bit.

I have three options I'm looking at:
1. $26k - 2012 Haas TM-2P. 500 hours. Chip auger, WIPS, programmable coolant, 10 tool, 6k spindle. It's 5 miles from my house.
2. $16k - 2005 Haas Mini Mill. Stock options, used heavily but in good condition. Will have to ship 500+ miles.
3. $32k - 2019 Haas Super Mini Mill 2. 300 hours. Rigid tapping, 10k spindle, 15 HP, 3-phase only, 20 tool. No WIPS. Will have to ship 500+ miles.

I have a pretty full 2-car garage, so space is at a premium. I can potentially expand the garage but will have to build a large insulated shed, which costs money and time. Plus might have to deal permitting and whatnot. I have a 70A 240V breaker ready to go, but would need a phase converter for 3-phase.

Thanks for your input!

You're going to bang your head with 6k and 10 tools. IMO the TM isn't even worth considering. Between all those, I would buy the newest, nicest machine you can afford. Personally, if it's not going to break you, I'd buy the 2019 SMM2 all day long. 3 phase isn't that big a deal. Buy a RPC and done. It's a little more money, but opens basically all the options for other machines. I don't think the shipping is an issue at all to get the machine you want, but it's probably worth looking at in person and make for certain that it's insured during shipping and rigging. Even though it's a small machine, shit happens.

If you want to focus on making parts and growing a business do that. In the grand scheme of things, you'll be happy to have a newer, more capable machine.