What's new
What's new

Haas TM-2P Opinion

george484

Plastic
Hello All,

I am quite new to the cnc world, I have some limited experience with cnc wood routers, but zero experience with cnc milling machines. I am in need of the ability to prototype parts quickly, and a VMC will do the trick.

I am on a limited budget, so I am considering a used Haas TM-2P or a new Tormach 1100mx (Their new servo equipped machine).

I will be mainly prototyping aluminum and plastics parts. Occasionally I will be machining steel, stainless and titanium (Very rarely).

Here is some specs on the haas:

-$24000 USD price
-Year: 2011
-Run times:

-Servo Time 7357:21:44
-Motion Time 2329:49:20
-Spindle Time 1803:28:27
-Run Time 17351:51
-Tool Change Count 10851

-Machine is under power and can be inspected.
-Control updated in 2015.
-Machine is not used frequently, only used for special jobs.
-Seller is original owner and it was purchased new from Haas.
-Umbrella style tool changer
-Chip Auger
-6000 rpm spindle

Unfortunately I do not know anyone who is knowledgable on cnc machinery, so I am really hoping for some solid advice from the professionals on this forum as I am struggling to make a decision!

Thanks,
George

I have a TM2P (among other Haas machines). It has been very reliable and fills a good niche. The are not overly fast or overly rigid, but if you have long parts you need to prototype, it’s a solid choice. I have mine set up with a 4th axis, and can still fit 3 vises.

If your parts are less than 16 inches, I would probably go with a Haas mini mill. Faster and more rigid.

Its a good year and it will machine through alum and plastic with ease also can run fast through both. If you need faster you can always add-on High Speed Machining