What's new
What's new

Haas VF0E Restoration

hwswgeek

Plastic
I purchased a 1997 model Haas VF0E in 2017 from eBay. My goal is to use it strickly for hobby purposes, namely, for building live steam equipment (see https://ibls.org).

I got a good deal on the machine, and they had a video of it running in production. I am recording my experience here for anyone else it may help.

It became obvious after I received it that it needed some TLC. In addition, it is my first exposure to CNC machining, so I knew I had a learning curve.

My background is in computer programming and hardware development. My only machining experience with machining is as a hobbyist.

So here goes. I plan to add an entry to this thread for each section I've worked on.

The Haas VF0E (the decal on the front says VF-0E) was listed on eBay by a company in Michigan. I won the auction for $7500, which I thought was a decent price. It took three weeks to find a trucker to bring it down on a flatbed, as there was shortage of drivers at the end of summer 2017. Shipping cost was about $1200 to North Texas.

I have a large shop behind my home. The dirt drive leading to the shop from the road is uneven, so I rented a large capacity forklift, the kind with the huge tractor-like wheels. It was rated for 9000lbs, so I figured I would be ok (shipper said the VF0E was 8000lbs, but I have seen other documents that said it is less than that). Forklift rental, with delivery and pickup, was $1000.

Haas on Forklift 2017-08-07 11.44.18.jpg

The forklift worked great. A really neat feature is that you can adjust the level of the load so it won't tip on uneven ground, which came in very handy with this move.

I sat the VMC down on six 5" square pad of 1/4" plate metal to help protect the concrete floor and spread the load a bit more. The VMC already had nice 3" diameter feet. Performed a rough level, will fine tune the level later.

Connected 3 phase power from a 10HP rotary phase converter.