What's new
What's new

Haas VF1 arbor losing zero reference

Jvanman

Plastic
Running a part on our VF1 mill that we have run several times before. When the part is loaded on to the arbor to drill & tap 3 holes, the holes check 'out of position' on our CMM and the arbor itself does not retain it's zero reference (last time it was .020 off). My initial thought is the Arbor needs to be PM'd. One of my esteemed colleague's suggested checking the program to make sure it wasn't missing code that might rectify the problem. Any help or direction is appreciated.

I'm fairly new to this, so my terminology likely causes confusion. (a.k.a.: I don't know what I'm talking about)

I'm fairly new to this, so my terminology likely causes confusion. (a.k.a.: I don't know what I'm talking about)
Take a picture of the setup (or even a shitty hand drawn sketch will help), label everything and restate your question using those labels. Tell us how you are setting the work offset for everything.

Also, if you think the code may be at fault, post the program here. Not a snippet, the whole program.

The term "Arbor" means a lot of different things as it's defined. But then it means even more Regionally, Shop to Shop, Person to Person.

R

Trying to attach a picture. Not sure it's working. When using MDI, we can get the fixture to return to A0. every time. When we run a program (have tried to different programs) it loses the zero in A. Since we have run these parts in the past without issue, I'm thinking the issue is with the fixture itself.

I've uploaded the picture of the fixture. This is rotated 90°.

Attachments

• VF1arbor.jpg
    VF1arbor.jpg
    78.1 KB · Views: 99
Trying to attach a picture. Not sure it's working. When using MDI, we can get the fixture to return to A0. every time. When we run a program (have tried to different programs) it loses the zero in A. Since we have run these parts in the past without issue, I'm thinking the issue is with the fixture itself.