What's new
What's new

Help! Grooving with a radius

LisaM0311

Plastic
Hello all. I’m new to haas, but not to machining. Been machining on Mazak’s for 15 years. Recently got a Haas. I’m having a hard time programming a radius at the bottom of a groove. I can get a chamfer at the bottom just fine. But adding a G02 and a R just alarms out. Was hoping I could add a picture of the print and program I have so far, can see how to do that. I’ll add the program below
G00 Z-.9942 F.01
G75 X .5905 Z-1.2175 K.05 I.025
G00 X 1.2
Z-.9642
X.9742
X.9342 Z-.9842
X.6305
G02 X.5805 Z-.1.0642R.04 (If I clear the G02 and
And R I get a chamf)
Z-1.2275
X.9342
X.9742 Z-1.2475
X1.2

Any help would be appreciated, no one here to ask questions too.

Lisa

your z axis difference is .080 and your trying a R.04..im not familiar with Hass but i think thats where you should start looking. its hard to tell what to adjust without knowing the controlling dimensions.

there are plenty of people here to help, ,welcome aboard!

BOOZE got it!

G02 X.5505 Z-1.0242 R.04

Your change in X needs to double the R value, Your change in Z is the R value.

Thank you, I was wrong on the Z once I changed that it started the radius on the graphics. But alarms out again. X double on the line before X. 6305
.5905 is my finish diameter.
I know that X is still programmed wrong, my way of thinking I’m trying to leave .01 for a finish pass so that why I had a X .5805

So I have G02 X.5805 Z-1.0242 R.04 I see a radius so that’s a plus. I’m just playing around trying to learn, we are slow so no better time to learn. Thanks for your help!

Lisa

G02 X.5805 Z-.1.0642R.04 (If I clear the G02 and ...

First off, you have a Z- .1.0642 (you have an extra decimal in your code.

Beyond that, I think Booze called it.

Good for you for trying to learn.
If your finish is .5905 and you want to leave +.01, your G02 X would be .6005 not .5805.

The X value for the previous line would need to be .6805.