What's new
What's new

Help! HAAS table shifts in drilling cycle

Slablocal

Plastic
Hey guys,
first time poster, long time follower. I was running thru a new program today, and my machine did something that caught me completely off guard. machine tool changed over to a drill for the next step, started feeding (as expected) into the part, and then the table suddenly shifted on the Y, breaking my drill bit and almost causing me to crap my pants.

The program simulation doesn't show this shift, an online NC viewer doesn't show the shift, but as soon as the machine hits drill depth it pulls the table towards me on the Y. I even loaded the code from my laptop just to see if it made a difference and it didn't. Is this a setting on the machine?! what is going on here? Its the first time I've ever had this happen...I'm not very good with G-Code, but I've tried, and I'm stumped. Machine specs below, and some lines of code. I appreciate any help I can get, as I need to get these parts wrapped up, thanks!!!

2017 HAAS TM-2P NextGen control
BobCam V29

(NEXT CUT - NEXT TOOL)
(Machine Setup - 1-Feature Mill Hole - 0.2500-Drill)
(FEATURE MILL HOLE - 0.2500)

(TOOL #81/4 DRILL)
N4444 T8 M06
N4445 G90 G54 X0.3335 Y-1.1243 S3819 M03
N4446 G43 H8 D8 Z2.5 M08
N4447 G00 Z1.161
N4448 G81 G99 X0.3335 Y-1.1243 Z0.5859 R1.061 F19.0986
N4449 G80
N4450 G00 Z1.161
N4451 Z2.5
N4452 M09
N4453 M05
N4454 G91 G28 Z0.
N4455 G90
N4456 M01

Something's screwy with your code. I've never seen a G81 done like that.

Try this:

T8 M06
G54 G90 G43 H8 D8 M08
S3819 M03
G81 G99 Z0.5859 R1.061 F19. L0
X0.3335 Y-1.1243
G80
G91 G28 Z0.
M01

Try this:

T8 M06
G54 G90 G43 H8 D8 M08
S3819 M03
X0.3335 Y-1.1243
G80
G91 G28 Z0.
M01