What's new
What's new

Help! What is the best way to mill this part.

solidjob

Plastic
Help! What is the best way to mill this part.
Hello,

I am a beginner with milling so any help is welcomed.

I need to make some round moulds in a steel stock.

I have an old machine with limited memory capacity and that is why I am using 2d pocket strategies to do the roughing.

My stepdown is 1 mm, I dont dare to use more.

My issue is that it takes to long to machine the parts.
Also another big problem is that the tip of my end mills gets destroyed very often.

So my question is. What is the best strategy to open these pockets?
Someone suggested to do a pre drill hole. But I dont see how this helps.

Attachments

• ROUGHING.jpg
    ROUGHING.jpg
    97.7 KB · Views: 279
  • 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    58.5 KB · Views: 223
  • 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    56.9 KB · Views: 212
  • 6.JPG
    6.JPG
    75.8 KB · Views: 236
  • 5.JPG
    5.JPG
    68 KB · Views: 182
You're wearing out the tip of your endmill because that's all you are using with the shallow stepdown. If you go deeper you will get it done faster and get more material removed before trashing your tool.

What machine and material? Are you plunging in with the endmill or ramping in?

I would personally use an adaptive roughing strategy with a smaller (cheaper) endmill to clear it, and then finish the floor and walls. 3/8" or 10mm should be much cheaper and they're still plenty strong for good material removal rates. It might be friendlier to your machine too since it sounds like you may have rigidity concerns?

How much is "limited memory"? Do you have DNC/dripfeed available?
I run massive programs through my old HAAS with like 80k of memory by using DNC mode. You could also program one pocket, and just call it as a subprogram at different positions to get your array of pockets.

Helical to depth on the centerline with an end mill slightly smaller than the finish width, then one pass around the outside and inside edges.