What's new
What's new

High feed milling on Hurco

lawmate

Plastic
Hi

I have had a Hurco VM10i for a year and am just working on a mild steel (EN1a) job where there's a lot of roughing material to remove. I bought a 20mm Mitsubishi AJX high feed end mill and am just wondering if it's OK to use. I'm running it to the specs advised, 1mm ap, 1mm fz, 110m/min and I've run it for an hour or so without coolant and the inserts look untouched, but it machines very loudly. The spindle load is 10%, but I can see the Z axis load fluctuating a lot as though it's taking the force of the cut. Also the sheet metal on the machine is vibrating around a lot.

I'm pretty new to machining so am not too sure what sounds ok or not. I don't want to damage the machine but I also want to be cutting heavily. Does anyone have advise on how much I can push using high feed mills without damaging the machine?

I'd prefer to use an insert cutter as I have quite a few pieces to do this roughing on and so will be a lot cheaper than solid carbide. Would a shoulder mill be a possible gentler alternative?

Thanks

VM10i is a very light machine, but a 20mm feed mill shouldn't trouble it.

I don't think your cutting data is correct, 1mm ap and 1mm fz would be closer to correct data for the size 14 ajx inserts, and 110m/min is very slow for soft mild steel.

I only have larger ajx tools, all my smaller feed mills are tungaloy and sandvik and solids from Horn. However, I typically run a 20mm feed mill at about .5mm ap and .5-.7mm fz, and I'd be somewhere around 200-240m/min in en1a.

Also, feed mills are noisy when stepover is too small. Ae needs to be around 80% of the cutting diameter for best results.

Also also, the Z axis does take the force of the cut when using a feed mill, so that's another sign that your chipload is too heavy.

Your best bet to reduce vibration is to reduce your ap. Greg's recommendation for 0.5mm ap seems spot on.