What's new
What's new

How much coolant concentrate is needed?

LeonUoS

Plastic
Hi Everyone,

I'm a PhD student studying cryogenic cutting fluids, where, as part of my PhD i'm hoping to undertake a cost analysis of cryogenic coolants compared to typical metalworking fluid (specifically Blaser Vasco 7000).

I have recently come into the problem of calculating how much coolant concentrate would be needed to fill a 200L tank to 8% concentration. Intuitively, I had assumed that that would simply mean adding 16L of concentrate to 184L of water, however, upon asking a machinist colleague he informed me that due to the refractive index of the coolant (1.5), I would actually only need to use 5.3% (10.7L) of the coolant concentrate to achieve a true concentration of 8%.

This seems strange to me, I trust my colleague as he as a wealth of practical experience (of which I have almost none) however, surely the 'True' concentration would be the true proportion of the mixture which is oil (and in which case 8%), rather than the effective concentration of the oil when refractive index is accounted for?

If my colleague is correct, would this then be to say that the refractometer reading (brix% presumably) is a direct representation of the actual percentage of coolant in the emulsion. So to say, if we use 10L of oil and 190L of water we would then get a refractometer reading of 5%, but an actual concentration of 5%*1.5=7.5%?

If someone could explain all of this to me I would be extremely appreciative. It definitely seems like an area in which I would have benefited from some practical training!

Thanks a lot,

Leon.

Your colleague is wrong and you are correct.

Some coolants have a ratio of brix reading to concentration yours is 1.5 mine is 1:1 so it’s easy.

But a 5 brix reading would equal about 7.5% coolant. So the mix for 8% will read just over that and should take about 16liter or coolant concentrate for a 200liter tank