What's new
What's new

How to use G50 on Fanuc 6T

NAST555

Stainless
So to make the story short I am joining a company that has older machines to what I am used to ( My Oldest Fanuc OM's and OT's) and have the task of running the shop. Mainly older Lathes including 5 and 6 Fanucs.

On my OT's I have a master tool and that tool in geometry is always X0.0 and Z0.0 and the rest are set off, "TAKE A CUT,MEASURE, MX 0.0, MZ0.0" and so on. On my Oi's I have setters that all tools can be zerod off and part and the rest know where the part is.

NOW, I have been looking at how the company uses G50 on the 6T's. There is a G50 call, for arguments sake on the first tool, T101; G50 X100.0 Z200.0. Where is this G50? How is it set? It was explained to me that because there is no geometry page that all tools work from this imaginary G50 position and if the first tool is Z200.0 then if I call T202 X100.0 Z200.0 then it will still be in the same position from the machine home but it will activate tool2's offsets? So now I need to add or subtract the difference between T1 and T2 so if I call G50 for T2 it won't be T202 X100.0 Z200.0 it will be T202 X50.0 Z100.0 (if it is shorter and lower down turret wise from T1)

Then I was properly confused. How do you set tools? Say you have to extend your boring bar then do you need to touch off again, take what your incremental screen says, MACHINE LOCK, move to offset it , and then machine release to get it into position? So your offset screen in a perfect world would read 0.0000 for X and Z but for fine adjustments there would be a bit of offsets?

I know that I am probably overthinking it and have been ":spoilt" but the last 6T I ran was years ago and the G50 "toolchange" was set at a certain safe position and my offset screen had the actual geometry of my tools from what I can remember.

Any help is much appreciated.