What's new
What's new

How to write G41 in CNC

somanna

Plastic
Im not a cnc professional or even a learning cnc operator,Im a student, currently studing my fourth year in mechanical engineering, Im required to study cnc as part of my syllabus. Im a newbe to cnc.
Can somebody please explain G41 syntax used for tool offset.

Let's say during a side milling operation, a 40mm diameter tool is used, so an offset is specified using a syntax as follows:

G41 D4

From what I understand from the above syntax is that, D must be followed by a number obtained by dividing the tool diameter by 10. Am I right? I've seen another example where a 25mm diameter tool was used and the D there was followed by 2 and not 2.5 (25 divided by 10). How come?

Can you please explain how the number that must be followed by "D" must be obtained.
Thank you.

Im not a cnc professional or even a learning cnc operator,Im a student, currently studing my fourth year in mechanical engineering, Im required to study cnc as part of my syllabus. Im a newbe to cnc.
Can somebody please explain G41 syntax used for tool offset.

Let's say during a side milling operation, a 40mm diameter tool is used, so an offset is specified using a syntax as follows:

G41 D4

From what I understand from the above syntax is that, D must be followed by a number obtained by dividing the tool diameter by 10. Am I right? I've seen another example where a 25mm diameter tool was used and the D there was followed by 2 and not 2.5 (25 divided by 10). How come?

Can you please explain how the number that must be followed by "D" must be obtained.
Thank you.

D4 is tool offset number 4 got nothing to do with diameter of the tool
G0 G40 X0. Y0.
G1 G41 D4 X1.0 F10.0
going to X1.0 using the D4 tool offset amount which if 0.25 center of tool would be at X.75 (.75 + .25 = 1.0)
cnc just does the math it adds the D4 offset to the coordinate position. you should have a tool offset screen sometimes separate columns for H and D and sometimes not