HSK A-63 on a HAAS, Anyone own/driving this spindle (yet) ? - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by BROTHERFRANK View Post
    Why exactly? Unless you are offering a 'very high' rpm spindle (40k rpm plus?).
    I have ran both HSK40 and BT30, I can say I saw zero advantages and many disadvantages with HSK 40 versus even non-Dual Contact BT30 on machines to 27k rpm max.
    Higher drawbar force with the HSK?

2. Likes Mstcnc liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Colorado
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by BROTHERFRANK View Post
    I have ran the HSK 40A version Brother machines. I was very excited the first time I ran one. I had been running BT30 for about 9 years at that point and had done and seen all kinds of crazy feats with BT30. I had been reading up on HSK and I thought "wow this is going to be great"! It wasn't. Cuts I would frequently take with BT30 (standard, not Dual Contact) I couldn't do with HSK40. Also the selection of tool holders was very poor and the price was very high and then when I saw the five quality name brand HSK 40A holders break in the spindle trashing our clients spindles at various times, that was it. I am talking broken holders either during light cuts or even not cutting! The HSK 40 has a very thin area (around .050") in the ID of the hollow taper where the clamping fingers (another nightmare) engage. I handled all the service in the west for about 10 years for Yamazen. we had about six hsk machines out here and a few hundred bt30 and those 6 HSK machines caused more trouble than the other 300 (now more like 1500) BT30 put together. The cost of a replacement HSK spindle is nearly double a standard BT30. Thanks to royalties that builders must pay to the HSK gods I am told. The tool holder selection is very limited compared to BT30. As I un