I don't know what to do with my new CNC machine - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Scruffy887 View Post
    Persistence is your friend here. Or as my FIL used to say "even a blind pig occasionally finds an acorn". At some point you will find something. While waiting you can look around some scrap yards for cheap metal to practice on. Or engineering plastics to play with. Stuff that can be machined with little or no tool wear.
    I've always used the phrase "beat your head against the desk until something useful comes out" can't remember which teacher told me that

If the machine is paid for, and you don't need the money, first and foremost HAVE FUN.

There was a time that I worked full time as a tool & die maker, and had a hobby shop on the side. I only did work I found entertaining, creative, or challenging. Those were the days of running a Hermle at work and coming home to a shop full of 1940's and older manual machines.

I find I do my best work when I am passionate about what I am making.

I would tell you to get a seat of Fusion. Even if you pay for it, it's like $500 a year. If you paid outright for a Haas, you can probably scrounge that up.

Make some gauges, tooling, setup pieces for the shop. This will help you get some processes and programming figured out relative to how the machine runs and cuts.

2. Likes mTeryk, wheelieking71 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default I don't know what to do with my new CNC machine

Get Fusion360 CAD/CAM and learn how to use it, (YouTube is your friend here).

Go around to all the regional factories, hand out business cards and discuss your abilities. Emphasize low overhead and quick turnaround.