What's new
What's new

I need a tiny invoulte gear cutter, aprk .25 dia?

kustomizer

Diamond
I need to make a small quantity of pinion gears about 3/16 dia with 10 teeth and a 1/4 gear to mesh with it, .6 c-c. I don't have much gear experiance but I am thinking I would like something like a 1/4 dia 4 flt carbide cutter. Where might I find such a critter?

Yes I would like a small milling cutter.
By 1/4 gear I mean it is not round but only about 90 degrees of the gear in kind of an odd triangle shape.
The cutter needs to be small in diameter

I'm no gear expert, but cutting gears that small is going to be very difficult.

1) You can cut spur gears with an indexer and B&S-style milling cutters, but this is smaller than any I've seen. If you try to profile it, you won't be very accurate. I've profiled some gears before, but they were bigger (mod 4) and I had incredibly sloppy accuracy requirements.

2) A 10 tooth pinion is going to have a lot of undercut. I've always been told to stay above 15 teeth, preferably over 17. What's driving you to the small number of teeth, the ratio of pitch diameters is what determines the gear ratio, so going to more, smaller teeth won't affect your ratio. There is a strength hit to smaller teeth, but your undercut teeth will take a big strength hit as well.

3) SDP (sdp-si.com) sells off the shelf small gears, down to 120DP. I would look at buying the small gear complete. For the large gear, buy a whole gear and cut it into quarters. If you wire it, you could get 4 pieces, otherwise just mill 3/4 of it away, they're dirt cheap. WM Berg also sells small gears.

Yes I would like a small milling cutter.
By 1/4 gear I mean it is not round but only about 90 degrees of the gear in kind of an odd triangle shape.
The cutter needs to be small in diameter

A, You have not given NEARLY enough information for us to be helpful to you.
B, your "1/4" gear is called a Sector Gear or Gear Segment.