What's new
What's new

I'm with an established firm, but I'm brand new in the world of VFD sales...

GratefulToday

Plastic
After teaching high school/coaching wrestling for two decades, I had a life crash three years ago. It was embarrassing. I left my wife and four kids for two months to an out of state rehab facility. By God's grace they didn't leave me, though I'd given them every reason to.
I realize most introductions don't start the way I just did, but it's where I am. If admitting I struggled for years with alcohol hurts business possibilities, I accept that. Just letting all know why I'm weighing in here, new to this industry despite being in my 40s. I did relapse two years ago, but completely sober since Dec 3, 2017.
Here's my question...
I'm now with an established company aimed at selling the lowest priced Allen Bradley PowerFlex Series Variable Frequency Drives (VFDs) with warranties. I've got a long way to go in terms of learning the industry. So that I don't make the same mistakes maybe some of you have witnessed by folks in my line of work, what are turn-offs regarding VFD sales reps? Also, aside from the obvious - honesty, integrity, product knowledge and follow-up - what are traits you've seen in reps you've found to be admirable/solid?
I need every tip I can get. My college wrestling coach used to say if you "just go to practice," it's improbable you'll end up being great. His point? You have to do things beyond what everyone else is doing to become excellent at anything, and that's all this is. Beyond the training I'm going through with work, I'm looking to people actually in the business for some guidance.
If you'd like to respond on this forum or offer tips via email ([email protected]), I'll take - and appreciate - any advice offered.
Thank you.
Nick