What's new
What's new

Indexable drilling on Turning Centre/VMC

NarulaMech

Plastic
Hi,
I am a small business owner in India, new to this forum, with no background education in machining/mechanical engg. Just plain 4 yrs of experience in manufacturing automobile parts (machining + fabrication).

I am using several indexable drills (we call them U-drills) of various sizes (17mm-22mm) on Turning centre/VMC. On Mild Steel and EN8(carbon steel, C-0.4 to 0.5) material. Maximum feed I have been able to achieve is 80-130mm/min, using RPMs of ranging from 1000 to 2100 and feeds of 0.05 to 0.08 max.

I have tried using Sandvik, Tungalow, Taegutec brands of tool holders and inserts, who all claim to be able to maintain feeds upto 0.15mm, but practically are not being achieved in my shop. Why this gap.

The only drawback of my machines is that they do not have provision for through coolant. Can this drawback be the cause of such drastic differences from what companies claim and what I can achieve.

I might know what you are asking. But I/we need to know what a "Turning centre/VMC" is. A Turning centre is acceptably a Lathe (most commonly Horizontal) and VMC is an acronym for Vertical Machining Centre, sooo basically different Animals. If we are talking a VTL (Vertical Lathe) that's okay, just need some clarification.

Robert

I would say that your lack of through coolant is the problem. Indexable drills can work with only external flood coolant, but they can't go very deep before you encounter problems. What is the drilling depth, and what problems do you encounter that keep you from achieving the recommended feed rate?

One times dia no need for thru tool coolant but as you go deeper every psi helps :)

Drilling depth maximum i have is L/D=2.
Well when i increase the feed rate, there is definitely vibration and noise, and i know if i don't reduce the feed immediately, the drill would probably break/wear off within 8-10 seconds.