What's new
What's new

Info regarding centerless grinding

Tupper87

Plastic
Hey guys, so I'm new to centerless grinding and having my parts sent out to have it done. So I have a few questions. If there is a slight taper, will the grinding take the taper out or follow it? Also, if there are any high spots will the part come out round. I'm talking about .0003" if that.

What is / are your parts diameter and length ?

There's a massive range of sizes that encompass centerless grinding.

Are there internal features ID/ bores etc. that have to reference an external cylindrical surface ?

Curious as to what sort of quantities you may be dealing with + QC ?

Grades of steel and hardness , + possible surface finish you are going for ?

You might also want to post this simultaneously in the "Abrasives" section too maybe ?

What is / are your parts diameter and length ?

There's a massive range of sizes that encompass centerless grinding.

Are there internal features ID/ bores etc. that have to reference an external cylindrical surface ?

Curious as to what sort of quantities you may be dealing with + QC ?

Grades of steel and hardness , + possible surface finish you are going for ?

You might also want to post this simultaneously in the "Abrasives" section too maybe ?
Diameter is .2506" with a tol of -.0002 finish is 16 and length is 3". No bores just a tight tolerance on the OD. With a little flat. Its inconel 718 around 35-40 Rockwell. Qty is 106.

Diameter is .2506" with a tol of -.0002 finish is 16 and length is 3". No bores just a tight tolerance on the OD. With a little flat. Its inconel 718 around 35-40 Rockwell. Qty is 106.

Dumb question here from me... Why centerless grinding in this case ?

Really - the question is "what kind of centerless" grinding?

You could easily get a tapered part if it is getting plunge ground.

But a through-feed unit shouldn't even be able to get a taper if they wanted to.