What's new
What's new

Introduction and Electrical Woes

Diezul

Plastic
I'm sure many of you have been in my situation at one time or another, that's why I came here for comfort (or get blasted).

Introduction Background: I'm trying to setup a hobby/prototyping workspace in my garage in the Southern California area. I know I know, you've all heard that before and take it as code word for 'that's cute, little guy wants to run machine shop in his tiny garage', but I legitimately plan to use it as such and have no qualms with renting a proper workshop later should the need arise. I've gone through the numerous threads of people wanting to do similar, so I'm familiar with the do's and don'ts advice given by this community, which I immensely appreciate. I was an Engineer for ~10 years in semiconductor industry, but had an early 30's crisis where I would find myself researching how to become a Firefighter during work (in my free time of course). I wanted something different. I realized I wanted to design/make things and genuinely love learning and trying to figure out where this rabbit hole leads to. I started off with 3D printing and wanted to make simple injection molds for camera/bike accessories etc. Now I have a Fadal 2016L (not operational yet) in my 2-car garage. I've been trying to get up to speed about the art of CNC machining through online resources. Going to shady auctions and buying too much crap, I should have all the essentials to get me started... yet I've never operated a CNC machine before. The hurdle preventing me from starting production, I mean prototyping - electrical issues.